Depeche Mode remix collection gets announced and dated

On 6 June 2011, Depeche Mode will release Remixes 2: 81-11 on Mute. An inspiring collection of new and classic mixes of material covering their entire career, the album includes remixes of tracks from their 1981 debut Speak And Spell, through to 2009’s Sounds Of The Universe, and is the follow-up to 2004’s million-plus selling Remixes 81-04. These remixes reinforce Depeche Mode’s standing as one of the world’s most influential and innovative acts.

Depeche Mode have been at the forefront of remix culture for the best part of three decades and this new compilation includes classic mixes from M83, UNKLE, Trentemøller, François Kervorkian and Dan The Automator, alongside all-new mixes from Stargate, Eric Prydz, Karlsson & Winnberg (from Miike Snow) and Röyksopp. In addition to this, the expanded editions include exclusive remixes by former band members Vince Clarke and Alan Wilder – the first time either artist has remixed tracks for their former colleagues.

Remixes 2: 81-11 will be available in two different CD formats; Single and Triple Disc versions, as well as Downloads and as a 6 x 12″ vinyl LP box set.

Highlights from the selection of classic mixes include reworkings of “Dream On” from 2001’s Exciter, “Suffer Well,” “John the Revelator” and “A Pain That I’m Used To” from 2005’s Playing The Angel and “In Chains,” “Peace” and “Wrong” from 2009’s Sounds Of The Universe, while the new mixes include “Tora! Tora! Tora!” and “Puppets” from 1981’s Speak And Spell, “Never Let Me Down Again” and “Behind The Wheel” from Music For The Masses as well as “A Question Of Time” from 1986’s Black Celebration. Lead single “Personal Jesus”, from 1990’s Violator, also features several strong remixes as part of the package. The Remixes 2: 81-11 tracklisting is as follows.

1-Disc version:
1. Dream On – Bushwacka Tough Guy Mix Edit (2001)
2. Personal Jesus – The Stargate Mix (2011)
3. Suffer Well – M83 Remix (2006)
4. John The Revelator – UNKLE Reconstruction (2006)
5. In Chains – Tigerskin’s No Sleep Remix Edit (2011)
6. Peace – SixToes Remix (2009)
7. Tora! Tora! Tora! – Karlsson And Winnberg (from Miike Snow) Remix (2011)
8. Never Let Me Down Again – Eric Prydz Remix (2011)
9. I Want It All – Roland M.Dill Remix (2011)
10. Wrong – Trentemøller Remix (2009)
11. Puppets – Röyksopp Remix (2011)
12. Everything Counts – Oliver Huntemann And Stephan Bodzin Dub (2006)
13. A Pain That I’m Used To – Jacques Lu Cont Remix (2005)

3-Disc version
Disc 1:
1. Dream On – Bushwacka Tough Guy Mix (2001)
2. Suffer Well – M83 Remix (2006)
3. John The Revelator – UNKLE Reconstruction (2006)
4. In Chains – Tigerskin’s No Sleep Remix (2011)
5. Peace – SixToes Remix (2009)
6. Lilian – Chab Vocal Remix Edit (2006)
7. Never Let Me Down Again – Digitalism Remix (2006)
8. Corrupt – Efdemin Remix (2009)
9. Everything Counts – Oliver Huntemann And Stephan Bodzin Dub (2006)
10. Happiest Girl – The Pulsating Orbital Vocal Mix (1990)
11. Walking In My Shoes – Anandamidic Mix (1993)
12. Personal Jesus – The Stargate Mix (2011)
13. Slowblow – Darren Price Mix (1997)

Disc 2:
1. Wrong – Trentemøller Club Remix (2009)
2. World In My Eyes – Dub In My Eyes (1990)
3. Fragile Tension – Peter Bjorn and John Remix (2009)
4. Strangelove – Tim Simenon/Mark Saunders Remix (1988)
5. A Pain That I’m Used To – Jacques Lu Cont Remix (2005)
6. The Darkest Star – Monolake Remix (2006)
7. I Feel You – Helmet At The Helm Mix (1993)
8. Higher Love – Adrenaline Mix Edit (2004)
9. Fly On The Windscreen – Death Mix (1985)
10. Barrel Of A Gun – United Mix (1997)
11. Only When I Lose Myself – Dan The Automator Mix (1998)
12. Ghost – Le Weekend Remix (2009)

Disc 3:
1. Personal Jesus – Alex Metric Remix Edit (2011)
2. Never Let Me Down Again – Eric Prydz Remix (2011)
3. Behind The Wheel – Vince Clarke Remix (2011)
4. Leave In Silence – Claro Intelecto ‘The Last Time’ Remix (2011)
5. In Chains – Alan Wilder Remix (2011)
6. When The Body Speaks – Karlsson And Winnberg Remix (2011)
7. Puppets – Röyksopp Remix (2011)
8. Tora! Tora! Tora! – Karlsson And Winnberg (from Miike Snow) Remix (2011)
9. Freestate – Clark Remix (2011)
10. I Want It All – Roland M. Dill Remix (2011)
11. A Question Of Time – Joebot Presents ‘Radio Face’ Remix (2011)
12. Personal Jesus – Sie Medway-Smith Remix (2011)

Depeche Mode belongs to a select premier league of groups who have survived from the early 1980s with their ideals, creative vision and core members intact. Formed in 1981, Depeche Mode – Martin Gore, Dave Gahan and Andy ‘Fletch’ Fletcher – continue to win critical and commercial acclaim across the world both in the studio and on the road. All of the band’s 12 studio albums have reached the Top Ten in not only the UK and USA but 20 plus countries around the world including Canada, Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Denmark, Switzerland, and Belgium. All told the band has sold more than 95 million albums worldwide.



  • Jeff G.


    Have all the older mixes, just need the 14 new 2011 remixes. Can't they just make a release for the serious fans that already own all of their entire commercial and promo remix releases? Jeez!

  • memoryboy


    Yay! I am sooo thrilled! No complaints here. Even some of the older remixes could use the remastering treatment. I will get the 3-disc set for sure!

  • oyeluque


    I agree with Jeff G. Unfair for real fans.

  • John Murray


    I will be getting the 3 disc edition to hear what Alan makes of recent mode. That will be it. All of the more recent remixes tend to be quite rubbish and lacking in depth. So yes - asking fans to shell out for second rate versions of mode songs is a bit of a stretch.

  • Ian


    These releases are always a cash grab.

  • Michel J


    Know what ? Yes it does smell of EMI milking the cow. Yes it's far from perfect, with I want you now by Alan acoming up on a separate disc, and still not sign of DJBong15, to name but two of the most glaring omissions. But hey - remastered sound on a whole bunch of classic mixes, plus a whole batch of new ones including the presence of both Alan and Vince, and a fairly intelligent sleeve design to boot which makes the 2 remix collections look like part of one big anthology : I for one am choosing to see this glass more than half full.

  • Tiger Tim


    No news on the Nick Rhodes mix. Will it be on the single?

  • The Truth


    why so long a wait.? its only a remix album?

  • memoryboy


    I agree with Michel J This is an exciting release!